Doctor’s Appointment Following Miscarriage: Aggressive Antibodies?

Tuesday morning, I sat in the waiting room silently trying to figure out how I got there. I had been deep in thought during the 10 minute drive to the doctor’s office and didn’t remember my drive. I was about to hear the doctor’s theory on why my body miscarried our pregnancy, and I was blinking through tears as the thought of our recent miscarriage took over my emotions. Thank goodness I hadn’t applied my mascara yet.

I waited 25 grueling minutes, alone with my thoughts, to speak with the doctor. I must say that I left more confused than ever following our 30 minute conversation. .

**

The doctor theorizes that there might be some antibodies that are attacking the embryos. These antibodies can be a result of an issue with my thyroid or a result of another hormonal imbalance due to our previous pregnancy that may have inadvertently created antibodies. Either way, there is a chance that my own body is attacking our embryos, what the crap?! My thyroid had been tested previously, and everything looked fine, but I was told that pregnancy can change your body over time. My thyroid hasn’t been tested since we had our son back in 2014. They also want to look into other ailments that could be creating antibodies that would be capable of attacking the embryos. On top of that, they plan on switching up some of our medications.

Furthermore, our doctor wants to conduct an Endometrial Scratch Biopsy.

According to CreateHealth.org, “The process of endometrial scratching as it relates to embryo implantation is not entirely understood and some questions still remain unanswered. Scientists involved in studies believe that there may be two reasons for the increased implantation rates:

  • Increase of endometrial white blood cells.  It appears that endometrial injury increases the production of white blood cells which secrete so called growth factors which in turn control embryo implantation.
  • Gene switching within the endometrium. Scientists speculate that sometimes embryos fail to implant due to genetic switching related to endometrial receptivity. That is, genes responsible for implantation of embryos are not switched on during the time when embryos are supposed to implant. Endometrial scratching may increase expression of genes (switching of genes) thought to be responsible for preparation of endometrium for implantation.”

For now, these are merely theories and suggestions, but the blood work will be the first determining factor in our continued journey from here on out. Depending on the results of our tests, we will then prioritize next steps in our fertility journey.

It’s still hard to believe that we were pregnant,but now we are back to square one. This battle has been one of the most emotionally and physically draining journey’s I’ve ever been a part of. The amount of money we have spent over the last 5 years makes me want to throw-up. I  continue praying as we  try to figure out how we will be able to afford additional fertility. For now, I’ll apply to every available grant and pray that we can get some kind of financial assistant.

If you’re feeling generous and want to pitch in for continued treatment, you can do so on our GoFundMe account. Please don’t feel like you have too, we will settle for lots of prayers also!

IMG_1232.jpg

Action items for me:: try not to get upset with every new pregnancy announcement, try to stay positive, love on this sweet boy (included picture of my son, Braxton) and continue praying for a miracle while holding onto my faith.

 

Leave a Reply

