Our FET Procedure

For I know the plans I have for you. declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11

Wednesday morning started out like any other, except without coffee and the fact that Jason was home. We got up and got Braxton around for daycare. From daycare we headed to Grand Rapids. Our FET was at 9:30am, and there was no denying how nervous I was. I’m sure Jason was nervous too but he didn’t show it. Upon arriving, we were literally checking in at the front desk and the nurse walked out and called my name. They were ready for us.

As we walked back to the area where our small room was and also where the transfer would take place in a small room down the hall, I literally struggled to hold back tears. I was so overcome with emotions. Did we have three that successfully thawed? How many embryos did they have to thaw from the remaining 9 that we had? Would the procedure go as planned? Would it work?

As Jason and I got into our required hospital gowns, I bowed my head and said a prayer. This helped calm my heart and relax me for the procedure that was only minutes away. A few short minutes later, the nurse came to retrieve us and we followed her back to the procedure room. There was Dr. Dodds smiling and waiting for us.

He told us that all three embryos that were thawed survived, leaving us with 6! This was a HUGE relief to us, because it was a possibility that all 9 would have had to be thawed to get three viable embryos.

Aren’t they BEAUTIFUL?!

14936888_10100494047873009_1652607191_n

The procedure went well. All three of the embryos were successfully transferred. We were in and out within an hour and headed home to rest. I laid down most of the day as I was experiencing mild cramping. Thursday was much of the same. Jason got up earlier than normal to take Braxton to daycare so I could continue resting. He has been so patient and understanding pretty much holding down the fort for the past few days.

Today is Friday, 3 days post FET. I’m having more cramping today, but other than that I’m feeling pretty good. I’m incredibly optimistic that this time has worked, but I’ll continue asking for prayers from our friends and family members in the coming weeks.

Fingers crossed that 1, 2 or THREE of these baby embryos hold to give Braxton a sibling or a few ;)!

Thanks to all of our friends and family  for all of the calls, Facebook/Instagram messages and texts over the past few days checking in on how we’re doing. Ya’ll are the best!

Here is a photo of Jason and I right before our FET!

14914958_10100494047868019_870803910_n

My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christs power may rest on me. That is why, for Christs sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. -2 Corinthians 12:8-10

Leave a Reply

